Sign In

Welcome to The Faculty of Community and Health Sciences

The Faculty of Community and Health Sciences is helping to transform health and welfare services in South Africa through its excellent teaching, research and community service.

View Programmes​​​​​

    • Department of Dietetics and Nutrition

      Dietetics is a profession which applies the science of nutrition in the maintenance of health in each of the life cycle stages as well as to the dietary management of various disease conditions. Our 4 year Dietetics degree program equips graduates with the knowledge and skills to practice in any of the 3 key focus areas of the profession, i.e. Therapeutic Nutrition, Community Nutrition and Foodservice Management.

    • Department of Occupational Therapy

      Occupational therapy is a client-centered health profession concerned with promoting health and well-being through occupation. The primary goal of occupational therapy is to enable people to participate in the activities of everyday life. Occupational therapists achieve this outcome by working with people and communities to enhance their ability to engage in the occupations they want to, need too or are expected to do, or by modifying their occupations or the environment to better support their occupational engagement. (WFOT, 2012)

    • Department of Physiotherapy

      A Physiotherapist is an important member of the health care team. We study the human body as it relates to movement, as well as how injuries, disease and disability affect all aspects of a person’s life.

    • Department of Psychology

      Psychology is the scientific study of human behaviour, which encompasses everything a person feel, thinks and does.

    • Department of Social Work

      Social Work is profession that promotes self reliance and self growth and celebrates the strengths and resilience of individuals, families, groups and communities.

    • The Department of Sport, Recreation and Exercise Science (SRES)

      The Department of Sport, Recreation and Exercise Science (SRES) provides students with the necessary academic and professional skills to promote health through participation in sport, recreation and physical activities..

    • School of Public Health

      The Vision of the School of Public Health (SOPH) is the optimal health of populations in developing countries

    • School of Natural Medicine

      The School of Natural Medicine offers comprehensive education and training in one of four diciples, Chinese Medicicine and Acupuncture (CMA), Phytotherapy, Naturopathy and Unani-Tibb. Completion of the program will enable registration with the Allied Health Professions Council of South Africa (AHPCSA) within their field of speciality.

    • School of Nursing

      The School of Nursing at the University of the Western Cape forms part of the Community and Health Science faculty. The School offers education and training in both under and post graduate levels.


 Deans Message

  • View All
    Dean's Photo

    Dean's Welcome Message

    The Faculty of Community & Health Sciences is an internationally recognised centre for community-based, interdisciplinary education and research in the Health and Social Sciences

    Read More






UWC Supports Sustainability
© 2013 UWC | Disclaimer | Sign-in

Contact Centre

University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville, 7535,
Republic of South Africa | +27 21 959 2911