Sign In

 Units and Contacts

The School comprises of the following constituent units and programmes:

  •  Undergraduate Programme in Public Administration

    For details ​​​Tel: +27 (0)21 959 3169 E-Mail:

  • Postgraduate Programmes (Honours, Masters and Doctorates) in Governance, Public Administration and Public Policy.

    For details Tel: +27 (0)21 959 3803
Programme for Land and Agrarian Studies (PLAAS) which carries out postgraduate teaching, training and research in the areas land reform, community based natural resource management and rural development.

    For details Tel:+27 (0)21 959 3733 E-Mail:

  • Institute for Social Development (ISD) which carries out postgraduate teaching and research in development studies and development management.

    For details Tel:+27 (0)21 959 3858  E-Mail:

  • African Centre for Citizenship and Democracy (ACCEDE) which has replaced the former Centre for Southern African Studies (CSAS) and which carries out postgraduate teaching and research on issues related to citizenship, participation, development and democracy in South Africa and the continent.


    For details Tel:+27 (0)21 959 3803/6


  • Fair Share which carries out training and outreach activities with local government and communities to build and sustain democratic governance at the local level.


    For details Tel:+27(0)21-959 3843


  • Executive Training Programme which provides a range of custom designed training programmes for elected and appointed officials at national, provincial and local government levels.

    For details Tel:+27 (0)21 959 3831


Related Links

UWC Supports Sustainability
© 2013 UWC | Disclaimer | Sign-in

Contact Centre

University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville, 7535,
Republic of South Africa | +27 21 959 2911