Navigate Up
Sign In

 First Master in Nanoscience degree conferred at UWC on 14 March 2014

First Master in Nanoscience degree conferred at UWC on 14 March 2014

 First Master in Nanoscience degree.jpg

The graduation ceremony on March 14 2014 marked a historic moment for inter-university collaboration in South Africa, when the new MSc degree in Nanoscience was awarded to the first cohort of students completing this unique degree.

For the first time in South Africa four universities, namely; Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, the University of Johannesburg, the University of Free State and the University of the Western Cape are working in  partnership to present the same inter-university post graduate degree to students from all four institutions, with each institution enrolling their own students in the programme.

This National Nanoscience Postgraduate Teaching and Training Platform (NNPTTP) is well-supported by the Department of Science and Technology, through the offering of full scholarships. A further unique feature, and a first in South Africa, is that the same degree is awarded in three study fields of Science, namely in nanobiomedical sciences, nanochemistry and nanophysics. 

The students from the four partner institutions completed their coursework component at UWC which is the Hub of the platform and were taught by lecturers from all four partner institutions as well as by international visiting scholars.  They then returned to their home institutions for the research component of their degrees.


Related Links

UWC Supports Sustainability
© 2013 UWC | Disclaimer | Sign-in

Contact Centre

University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville, 7535,
Republic of South Africa | +27 21 959 2911