Navigate Up
Sign In

 Physics students win awards at conference

Physics students win awards at conference

From Left to Right : Sinovuyo Tanci, Phumzile Zandile Mabika, Siphelo Ngqoloda, Bernadette Maria Rebeiro, and Lynndle Square​ 

Five UWC students from the Physics Department won awards at the SAIP (South African  Institute of Physics) conference. 

Below are the names of the students and the category of awards, respectively: 

Siphelo Ngqoloda (Second year Master's student, MATSCI ) - Outstanding poster presentation in the Condensed Matter division on Vertically aligned silicon nanowires synthesised by metal-assisted chemical etching for photovoltaic applications.

Sinovuyo Tanci (First year Master's, Physics Education)-  Outstanding poster presentation in the  Physics Education division on Developing multi-representational problem solving skills in a mixed-ability physics class

Lynndle Square (PhD, material modelling physics)- Best PhD Oral presentation in Theoretical and Computational Physics division with a presentation on proton conductivity stability studies by modelling

Phumzile Zandile Mabika (joint MANUS student from University of Zululand) - Outstanding poster presentation    in Nuclear, Particle and Radiation Physics Division with a poster on A High Precision Branching Ratio Measurement in 19Ne Beta Decay.

Bernadette Maria Rebeiro (PhD Nuclear Physics) - Best PhD oral presentation on Nuclear Structure studies in A=136 region using transfer reactions.


Related Links

UWC Supports Sustainability
© 2013 UWC | Disclaimer | Sign-in

Contact Centre

University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville, 7535,
Republic of South Africa | +27 21 959 2911