Navigate Up
Sign In

Welcome to Digital Academic Literacy

The Digital Academic Literacy content is taught across faculties as an attempt to provide the students with the necessary basic e-learning skills as required for academic purposes. The content changes as the digital media and technology advance and in accordance with the resources provided by the university in teaching and walk-in computer labs. All of this is done in consultation with the faculty.

Face-to-face scheduled training

Training is offered throughout the semester at Thintana, BOE, Education and B20 lab. Currently, the team is offering training every day of the week, from 8h30 – 16h10, including lunch period. In some cases, training is offered at four labs concurrently.

One-on-one office consultations

Students who need further training and assistance are generally encouraged to make use of the consultation facilities (B18) which operates from 8h30 till 17h00 in order to accommodate part-time students.

Collaborative projects

The DAL team has made a shift to intergrate with other teams, eg. the Instructional Designers, in the successful delivery on various eTools (eg. Turn-it-in and eTeaching) to first year students.

Training offered by DAL include:

·         Microsoft PowerPoint 2010

·         Microsoft Excel 2010

·         Internet Browser and GroupWise

·         eTools

·         Turnitin (Tii)

The Digital Academic Literacy Team consists of four members:

Coordinator: Fundile Nkunge fnkunge@uwc.ac.za

Facilitator: Joniff Cleophas jcleophas@uwc.ac.za

Facilitator: Nyameko Yabo​ nyabo@uwc.ac.za

Interns:

Siqhamo Tekula stekula@uwc.ac.za

Tuscany Donson tdonson@uwc.ac.za

Noloyiso Fondini nfondini@uwc.ac.za​​

Tel: (021) 959 9575/9576

B18 lab : (021) 959 2966

UWC Supports Sustainability
© 2013 UWC | Disclaimer | Sign-in

Contact Centre

University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville, 7535,
Republic of South Africa

info@uwc.ac.za | +27 21 959 2911

Location