Contact Us
19 April 2021
UWC head to FNB Varsity Cup 'Bubble 2' with five squad changes
UWC’s Director of Rugby Paul Treu has made five changes to UWC’s 30-man squad for Bubble 2’ of FNB Varsity Cup 2021.

In ‘Bubble 1’, the men in blue and gold managed a 28-28 draw against FNB UFS Shimlas, before losing to FNB Maties (21-43) and then securing a morale-boosting 47-40 win against promotees FNB Madibaz.

During ‘Bubble 2’ they will face FNB NWU Eagles, tournament hosts FNB UP-Tuks and FNB UJ - the latter two will be televised LIVE.

For the task at hand, Treu and his coaching staff have again gone for a 17-13 split between forwards and back but Bradman Grove (the only player to start all three ‘Bubble 1’ fixtures), Bronlee Mouries, Patrick Kotze, Tasriq Mynhardt and Mikyle Vraagom will stay in Cape Town.

Taking their places for the trip back to the bio-bubble at the University of Pretoria will be Liam Tattersal, Thristan Valentyn, Jason Cloete, Tiaan Henecke and Peter Williams. 

UDubs currently find themselves in sixth place on the 10-team log.

Forwards: Jason Alexander, Luvo Bazi, Reece Bocks, Ebrahiem Davids, Jaen-Louis de Lange, Johan Lamprecht, Tinotenda Mavesere, Jacques Mostert, Godfrey Muzanargwo, Romuald Nsombamanya, Pieter-Steyl Swanepoel, Mauritz Swart, Liam Tattersal, Justin Theys, Thristan Valentyn, Riaan van der Merwe, Jacques van Zyl.

Backs: Schalk Carstens, Jason Cloete, Conwill Conradie, Branden de Kock, Ethan Diston, Lyle Hendricks, Tiaan Henecke, André Manuel, Lundi Msenge, Gilroy Philander, Aydon Topley, Johannes van Biljon, Peter Williams.

22 April vs FNB NWU Eagles (Tuks B-Field, 14:00)
26 April vs FNB UP-Tuks (Tuks Stadium, 19:00 - TV)
30 April vs FNB UJ (Loftus Versfeld Stadium, 15:00 - TV)