Contact Us

Faculty of Education Contacts

Faculty Leadership

Dean: Professor Rajendran Govender (
Deputy Dean - Postgraduate & Research: Professor Rouaan Maarman
Deputy Dean (acting) - Teaching & Learning: Professor Rajendra Chetty - NRF C-rated Researcher (2021-2026)
Teaching and Learning Specialist: Dr Moira Bladergroen
Faculty Manager: Ms Villeen Beerwinkel

Dean's Office Staff

Financial Administrator: Mr Steven Kemp
Dean's Administrator: Ms Andiswa Tom (

Faculty Administrative Staff

Senior Faculty Officer: Ms Kim Styer
Faculty Officer (BEd Foundation Phase): Mr Grant Meyer
Faculty Officer (BEd Senior Phase & FET): Mr Terence Plaatjies
Faculty Officer (Postgraduate: BEd Honours and PGCE):Mr Vusumzi Ndabeni
Faculty Officer (Postgraduate: MEd and PhD): Ms Moswang Moloi 
Faculty Officer (Helpdesk): Lulekwa Mekana
Faculty Officer (Governance): Ms Christma Lewis
Faculty Officer (Academic Planning: Timetable and Exams): Mr Ryan Adonis

Email (for undergraduate queries) (for Honours queries) (for PGCE queries) (for Masters and PhD queries)

Teaching Practice


Dr Melanie Luckay
Position: Teaching Practice Coordinator (Senior Phase)
Location: Block A, Room 79
Tel: 021 959 2260

Dr Lucinda du Plooy
Position: Teaching Practice Coordinator (Foundation Phase)
Location: Pet Seminar Room 43
Tel: 021 959 3001


Ms Wafieqah Adams
Position: Teachers Practice Administrator (Foundation Phase)
Location: Block A, Room 64-A
Tel: 021 959 2656

Ms Natasha Donn-Arnold
Position: Teachers Practice Administrator (Senior Phase & PGCE)
Location: Block A, Room 64-B
Tel: 021 959 9766

Academic and Tutorial support


Ms Lameez Davids
Position: Coordinator: Academic and Tutorial support 
Location: Block B, Room 251