Contact Us
5 November 2020
2020 UWC Sport Awards Honours 60 for 60
In line with the University of the Western Cape’s 60th anniversary celebrations this year, the 2020 UWC Sport Awards on 30 October celebrated the achievements of 60 current and former athletes, coaches, administrators and scientists who have raised the university flag high in the last six decades. But, as Professor Pamela Dube, Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Student Development and Support, put it, the move was not to disregard the contribution of thousands of others. “I want to assure you that this is not meant to disregard the contribution of many other athletes who are not honoured this evening,” Prof Dube said in her welcome address.

UWC Rector and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Tyrone Pretorius, congratulated the winners. “Tonight we honour individuals who bring tremendous distinction to the university through a combination of their career achievements, societal engagements and contribution to a range of sporting codes. They have raised the bar high and set standards for years to come.”

He said UWC’s history is a proud story of transformation, closely associated with imperatives of building a humane, adjusted and educated society to hold its place in a modern world. “Despite the impact of the apartheid heritage on our individual and institutional development, we have done remarkably well to overcome adversity and to build a proud track record of academic excellence as well as a rich sporting tradition that has characterised the university since its inception. Decades later, we are called upon to hold the same values and principles of equity and integrity to address lingering issues of intolerance and discrimination,” said Prof. Pretorius.

In his address, Prof. Pretorius said what makes a university great is the achievements of its people; its students, alumni and staff, and sport, among others, is an essential measure of personal and institutional success. “On behalf of the more than 25 000 students and staff, and scores of alumni and friends, we acknowledge your exceptional public leadership roles through sport. Through your passion, your commitment, and contribution in sport, on and off the field, you have not only helped to increase our sense of ourselves but also assisted to sustain the university’s critical engagement with the communities and societies at large. We are truly inspired by your individual stories.”

Looking forward, UWC continues to be inspired by the exciting possibilities of sport as an intellectual, social and infrastructural investment, according to Prof. Pretorius. “Over the next period, we intend to make a full academic use of the access between sports science and the sporting performances of our athletes to sharpen our focus on high-performance sport and evidence-based development of coaches and athletes in key sporting codes, particularly in under-resourced communities”.

He said the university had done well to attract a critical mass of student-athletes, administrators and highly experienced coaches. UWC has also invested significantly in the upgrading of UWC Sports Stadium and has acquired additional land on the Belhar side of the campus “to extend our residential and sporting footprint. The further upgrading of our athletics track, the repair of our Olympic-side heated indoor pool and the installation of a fully-functioning gym equipped for systematic data collection, will greatly position UWC as a sporting and a sports science destination.”

Here is the full list of all the 2020 UWC Sports Awards recipients:


The late Chester Williams - rugby

Dr Lwando Mdleleni - football

Nathan Peskin - football

Eric Harley - swimming

Gary Dolley - hockey

William Legolie - athletics

Libby Burrell - triathlon

David Notoane - football

The late Jeffrey Stevens - rugby

Trevor Fredericks - karate

Deon Davids - rugby


Tobie Titus

Danny Jordaan

Prof. Tyrone Pretorius

Songezo Nayo

Dr Lyndon Bouah

Ilhaam Groenewald

Edwin Wyngaard

Clive Killian

The late Landile Kasibe

Tony Loubser

Adv Nicolas Kock

Luthando Zibeko

Former Minister Ngconde Balfour

Andile Ndevu

Gary Boshoff

Theseus Constance

Gustav Jacobs


Bejancka Della - volleyball

Leo Williams - volleyball 
Babalwa Latsha - rugby

Laurian Johannes - rugby

Herschel Jantjies - rugby

Thembi Kgatlana - football

Zubayr Hamza - cricket

Derick Orderson - swimming

Jantjie Marthinus - athletics

Donovan Wright - athletics

Bobang Phiri - athletics

Sinothemba Blom - boxing

Andrew Wrankmore - squash

Adv Lwandiso Kwababana - boxing

Leigh-Ann Naidoo - volleyball

Nosipho Poswa - rugby

Leandra Smeda - football

Grant Goldschmidt - volleyball

Geraldine Pillay - athletics

Melody Marcus - athletics

Kurt-Lee Arendse - rugby

Juambuaije Zauana - netball


Prof. Marion Keim

Dr Llewellyn MacMaster

Patricia Lawrence

Khaya Magopeni

Benni Pretorius

The late Dr Ingrid Muller

Prof. Judith Cornelissen

Rene Naylor

The late Roger Adams

Dr Fred Robertson