Contact Us

Sport Council

Name Tel Portfolio Email
Prof Barry Andrews 021 959 3137 Manager: High Performance Centre bandrews@uwc.ac.za
Zoleka Bavuma 021 959 4150 High Performance Centre Administrator zbavuma@uwc.ac.za
Glen Bentley 021 959 2017 Manager: Support Services,
Athletics, *Boxing, *Chess, *Karate (*temporarily)
gbentley@uwc.ac.za
Elmien Cloete 021 959 2791 Manager: Football Women, Volleyball edcloete@uwc.ac.za
Mandla Gagayi 021 959 2207 UWC Sport Director
*Manager: Dance Sport, Netball (*temporarily)
mgagayi@uwc.ac.za
Brent Hess 021 959 3534 High Performance Centre Coordinator
Senior Physiotherapist
bhess@uwc.ac.za
Avril Langeveld 021 959 9732 Administrative Officer alangeveld@uwc.ac.za
Eugene Le Roux 021 959 3142 Rugby Office  
Colin Kensley 021 959 3675 Facility Supervisor ckensley@uwc.ac.za
Simpiwe Makinana 021 959 2348 Squash Courts smakinana@uwc.ac.za
Nadia Mgulwa 021 959 2548 Manager: Cheerleading, Hockey nmuglwa@uwc.ac.za
Sikhulule Nkomphela 021 959 2023 Brand and Projects Coordinator snkomphela@uwc.ac.za
Derick Orderson 021 959 2018 Manager: Aquatics, Hiking, Recreation, Rowing, Supa-Pool, Table Tennis, Tennis
 
dorderson@uwc.ac.za
Security Front Office 021 959 4319    
Hassan Sobekwa 021 959 2056 Manager: Basketball, Football Men msobekwa@uwc.ac.za
Sport Council 021 959 2547   sportcouncil@uwc.ac.za
Jonathan Swarts 021 959 9732 Support Services jswart@uwc.ac.za
Clement Trout 021 959 2318 Manager: Cricket, Rugby ctrout@uwc.ac.za
Keenan Watson 021 959 4103 Strength and Conditioning kwatson@uwc.ac.za
Andrew Wrankmore 021 959 3449 Manager: UWC Gym awrankmore@uwc.ac.za

The UWC Student Sports Council is made up of two representatives from each club. The purpose of the Council is to pass on pertinent information to the clubs. It plays an important role with regards to advice on implementing rules and regulations and policies for the entire Sport Club Programme.

Sport Club Representative Responsibilities
The role of the representative is to communicate with the Club members and the Sport Department. Responsibilities include but are not limited to:
  • Informing club members of required information which includes the content of the Sport Handbook and the Code of Conduct.
  • Attending Sports Council meetings and related activities and serve as a liaison between the Club members, the Council and the Sport Department.
  • Meeting the deadlines required by the Sport Department including facility requests, travel authorisations, purchase requests, team rosters, club information, registration cards, budget proposals, and others as assigned.

Sports Council Executive Committee
The Sports Council members will elect an Executive Committee made up of six (6) members. The positions are:
  • Chairperson
  • Vice-Chairperson
  • General Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Projects Officer and
  • Development Officer
All positions are for a two-year term. The Constitution governs all aspects of the Sports Council.

Election Process
The elections occur at the Bi-Annual General Meeting in September. Current members are eligible to be re-elected except if they have served for more than two terms.

The Sport Clubs provide nominations, and the Council representatives may nominate themselves or others for positions on the Executive. The members receiving majority votes for the respective positions will make up the Sports Council Executive Committee.