Contact Us

Sport Council

Name Tel Portfolio Email
Trout, Clement E 2318 Rugby ctrout@uwc.ac.za
Barends, Hayward E 2023 Brand and Project Coordinator
Boxing, Chess, Karate
hmbarends@uwc.ac.za
Bavuma, Zoleka E 4150 High Performance Administrator zbavuma@uwc.ac.za
Bentley, Glen E 2017 Manager: Support Services,
Athletics
gbentley@uwc.ac.za
Cloete, Elmien E 2791 Cricket, Football Women,
Volleyball
edcloete@uwc.ac.za
Gagayi, Mandla E 2207 Director mgagayi@uwc.ac.za
Hess, Brent E 3534 High Performance Coordinator bhess@uwc.ac.za
Heyns, Adrian  E 2980 Netball, Dance Sport aheyns@uwc.ac.za
Langeveld, Avril E 9732 Administrative Officer alangeveld@uwc.ac.za
Le Roux, Eugene E3142 Rugby Office  
Kensley, Colin E 3675 Facility Supervisor ckensley@uwc.ac.za
Makinana, Simpiwe E 2348 Squash Courts smakinana@uwc.ac.za
Mgulwa, Nadia E 2548 E 2548 Cheerleading, Hockey nmuglwa@uwc.ac.za
Orderson, Derick E 2018 Aquatics, Table Tennis, Rowing,
Supa-Pool, Hiking, Tennis,
Recreation
 
dorderson@uwc.ac.za
Security Front Office E 4319    
Sobekwa, Hassan E 2056 Football, Basketball msobekwa@uwc.ac.za
Sport Council E 2547   sportcouncil@uwc.ac.za
Swart, Jonathan E 9732 Support Services jswart@uwc.ac.za
Watson, Keenan E 4103 Strength and Conditioning kwatson@uwc.ac.za
Wrankmore, Andrew E 3449 UWC GYM awrankmore@uwc.ac.za

The UWC Student Sports Council is made up of two representatives from each club. The purpose of
the Council is to pass on pertinent information to the clubs. It plays an important role with regards
to advice on implementing rules and regulations and policies for the entire Sport Club Programme.

Sport Club Representative Responsibilities
The role of the representative is to communicate with the Club members and the Sport Department.
Responsibilities include but are not limited to:
  • Informing club members of required information which includes the content of the Sport
    Handbook and the Code of Conduct.
  • Attending Sports Council meetings and related activities and serve as a liaison between the
    Club members, the Council and the Sport Department.
  • Meeting the deadlines required by the Sport Department including facility requests, travel
    authorisations, purchase requests, team rosters, club information, registration cards, budget
    proposals, and others as assigned.

Sports Council Executive Committee
The Sport Council members will elect an Executive Committee made up of six (6) members. The
positions are: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, General Secretary, Treasurer, Projects Officer and
Development Officer and all positions are for a 2-year term. The Constitution governs all aspects of
the Sports Council.

Election Process
The elections occur at the Bi-Annual General Meeting in September. Current members are eligible to
be re- elected except if they have served for more than two terms.
The Sport Clubs provide nominations, and the Council representatives may nominate themselves or
others for positions on the Executive. The members receiving majority votes for the respective
positions will make up the Sports Council Executive Committee.