Contact Us
Erasmus Mundus Action
Erasmus Mundus Action 2 fosters institutional co-operation in the field of higher education between the European Union and developing countries, like South Africa through a mobility scheme addressing student and staff (academic and administrative/support) exchanges for the purpose of studying, teaching, training and research.  The award to each consortium exceeds €1.6 million, and was made under the Erasmus Mundus initiative of the European Union (EU). It is anticipated that 200 South Africans will benefit from the scholarship scheme. The scholarship recipients will be able to spend some time (between one and 35 months) at one of the EU partner universities. 
Applications open 22 October 2012. The call for applications is open all South African nationals. For 2013/2014 the University of the Western Cape is a partner in all three of the consortia, namely, EM2SA (led by Leuven University, Belgium), EUROSA (led by the University of Antwerp, Belgium) and EU-SATURN (led by Groningen University, Netherlands). 
Erasmus Mundus Action 2 for South Africa consortium (EM2SA)

The University of the Western Cape and the three other universities in the Western Cape, and Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) have joined forces with nine European universities in the ema2sa network.  The European partner universities are: the University of Leuven, Belgium; Freie Universitat Berlin, Germany; Pierre et Marie Curie Universite, Paris; Karolinska Institutet, Sweden; Masaryk University, Brno; Universidad de Granada, Spain; University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, VU Amsterdam, Netherlands and the University of Hull, UK. 
 For the EMA2SA call see  to apply online and for alumni and current recipients’ news:
Erasmus Mundus Partnership for Human Development (EUROSA)

UWC has been awarded a second grant and is a member of the EUROSA network. The lead institution is the University of Antwerp, Belgium.   The European partner universities are:  University of Antwerp, Belgium (co-ordinator), Aarhus University, Denmark ,  University of Bologna, Italy,  University of Graz, Austria, University of Leipzig, Germany, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia, Lund University, Sweden,  Maastricht University, Netherlands and Utrecht University, Netherlands. 

The South African partners are: Cape Peninsula University of Technology, University of Fort Hare, University of the Free State, University of Limpopo, University of Pretoria, Stellenbosch University, University of Venda and the University of the Western Cape.  The network promotes mobility for students, researchers, academic and administrative staff from South Africa to Europe. For the EUROSA applications refer to
European-South African Programme in Tuning for Regional Needs in higher Education   (EU-SATURN)

UWC’s third partnership is with the EU-SATURN consortium which is led by the University of Groningen, Netherlands. The same mobility and degree seeking opportunities exist as for the other two consortia.  The European partner universities are:  University of Ghent,  Georg-August-Universität Göttingen Stiftung Öffentlichen Rechts,  Politechnika Wroclawska  Universitat de València. Estudi General  Uppsala University  University of Newcastle upon Tyne  The South African partners universities are: University of the Free State, Tshwane University of Technology, University of Cape Town, University of Fort Hare, University of Johannesburg, University of Limpopo, WITS and the University of the Western Cape. 

For the EU-SATURN applications refer to and for updates:

Obtaining a letter of invitation
Students/prospective students, you are encouraged to visit the websites of each of the European partner universities immediately to look at the academic offers and to correspond with the potential host university to request a letter of invitation.  This can cause delays if this is not requested at the onset.  Staff do not need to look at the academic offers, but should look for collaborators or hosts and to also request a letter of invitation after establishing contact. This is a requirement for your application. 


Please contact Prof Lorna Holtman, Director: Postgraduate Studies and UWC Erasmus Mundus co-ordinator for any and copy to (021-9592451). You may also contact the host university’s Erasmus Mundus co-ordinator for queries about their offers and university or to ask for assistance to find a suitable host. Their contact details are found on their websites accessible via the consortia websites mentioned above.