Contact Us
Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology

Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology

A new award and anthology has been established on the topics of gender, human rights and sexuality, for writers and photographers across Africa.

Gerald Kraak (1956–2014) was a passionate champion of social justice, an anti-apartheid activist and the head of the Atlantic Philanthropies’ Reconciliation and Human Rights Programme in South Africa.He authored the European Union Literary Award-winning Ice in the Lungs (Jacana, 2005), which explores South African politics, and he directed a documentary on gay conscripts in the apartheid army.

Created in honour of his extraordinary legacy, this new annual award is made possible in partnership with The Other Foundation, and will advance Gerald’s contribution to building a society that is safe and welcoming to all.

Rather than general discussions of these subjects, the judging panel will select pieces which engage with gender and sexuality in ways that promote new insights into human rights matters on our continent.

Only the very best work submitted will be shortlisted and published in an anthology, with the winners to be announced at a 2017 award ceremony, hosted by The Other Foundation and attended by the authors of the top three submissions.


Entries must have been created by a citizen of an African country who primarily lives and works on the continent.

Written submissions must be in English.

Materials must not exceed 15 000 words or 10 images.

The overall winner will receive a cash prize of R25 000.

Submissions must be made via the online entry form:


Closing date for submissions: 31 July 2016

Shortlist announced: 15 December 2016

For more information, visit the website: