Contact Us
12 September 2013
Oath Taking Ceremony

The Department of Social Work will be having their Annual Oath taking Ceremony on 12 September 2013 in the UWC Senate Hall.

The keynote speaker at the event will be Mr Lionel Louw, National Director of Harold Wolpe Memorial Trust.

It is a legislative requirement that all students must be registered with the South African Council for Social Service Professions as student social workers. This process usually occurs in the second year of the students 4 year B Social Work programme.

The event is a ceremonial occasion where students formally receive their registration certificates from the SA Council for Social Services Professions. As part of the ceremony students declare an Oath in which they pledge to commit themselves to ethical practice as student social workers and serving their communities in which will be doing their practice education activities.

The second part of the event will include Masters and PhD students receiving scholarships from the Erika Theron Scholarship Fund. Erika Theron was a pioneer in the field of social work practice and education in South Africa.