Contact Us
Prof Deliwe Phetlhu elected as STTI Regional Coordinator (Africa)
The 42nd convention of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International was attended by more than 2000 delegates from different continents where Prof Hester Klopper (Extra Honorary Professorin the school of nursing) was inaugurated as the first president outside of North America in the 90 years of the organisation’s existance. Prof Deliwe Rene Phetlhu was elected as the regional coordinator (Africa) in the international committee for the 2013-2015 biennium. She is also serving as the current Tau Lambda at-large chapter president which serves 18 universities in 7 African countries with others such as Nigeria in the process of being inducted. The University of the Western Cape was one of the three universities honoured during the chapter amendment recognition in the House of Delegates thanks to the hard work of Prof Felicity Daniels who served as the faculty counsellor and chairperson of the leadership succession committee in the Tau Lambda at-large chapter.
"The time for Africa has come and the nurses’ hard work and leadership ability is being recognised globally" says HOD of Nursing, Prof Karien Jooste.