Contact Us
30 March 2021
UWC Rugby squad named for FNB Varsity Cup ‘Bubble 1’
During a send-off presentation on 30 March 2021, UWC’s Director of Rugby Paul Treu named his first 30-man squad for the 2021 FNB Varsity Cup.

While the rugby club has 43 players registered for this year’s tournament, which is taking place in a bio-secure environment at the University of Pretoria, each of the 10 Varsity Cup teams are only allowed to name 30 players and five management members to go into the ‘bubble’.

In ‘Bubble 1’, the men in blue and gold will face UFS Shimlas (the only team they beat in 2020), powerhouses Maties and promotees Madibaz.

The squad, captained by Pieter-Steyl Swanepoel, includes Zimbabwean internationals Tinotenda Masevere and Godfrey Muzanargwo as well as Stormers squad member Lyle Hendricks, exciting winger Lundi Msenge and outgoing skipper Jacques van Zyl.

Forwards: Jason Alexander, Luvo Bazi, Reece Bocks, Ebrahiem Davids, Jaen-Louis de Lange, Bradman Grove, Johan Lamprecht, Tinotenda Mavesere, Jacques Mostert, Bronlee Mouries, Godfrey Muzanargwo, Romuald Nsombamanya, Pieter-Steyl Swanepoel, Mauritz Swart, Justin Theys, Riaan van der Merwe, Jacques van Zyl.

Backs: Schalk Carstens, Conwill Conradie, Branden de Kock, Ethan Diston, Lyle Hendricks, Patrick Kotze, André Manuel, Lundi Msenge, Tasriq Mynhardt, Gilroy Philander, Aydon Topley, Johannes van Biljon, Mikyle Vraagom.

5 April vs FNB UFS Shimlas (Tuks Stadium, 17:00 - TV)
8 April vs FNB Maties (UP-Tuks B Field, 14:00)
10 April vs FNB Madibaz (Tuks Stadium, 15:00 - TV)

*To get to know Paul Treu and his plans for UWC Rugby, read the latest edition of Blue and Gold by clicking HERE.