Contact Us
Accounting Awards Function
Accounting students awarded for their achievements.

Click to view slide show

The University of the Western Cape’s Accounting Department can give themselves a pat on the back after honouring more 16 students for their outstanding achievements at the Department of Accounting Awards Function, held on 22 April 2013.

Students from 1st year to Honours year were awarded certificates and now serve as motivation to students who want to follow in their footsteps.

Colleagues in industry were also in attendance to present the awards to winners. Awards were presented by Klynveld Peat Merwick Goerdeler (KPMG), Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Nexia SAB&T, Auditor-General South Africa (AGSA), South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA), Sage Pastel Accounting, LexisNexis, PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) and Association for the Advancement of Black Accountants of Southern Africa (ABASA).

UWC Rector Professor Brian O’Connell, said South African universities need to play a bigger role in society, not only nationally, but internationally as well.

“We are here to celebrate the success of our accounting students and students in other faculties, who showed their mettle, stamina, perseverance and confidence. I want to congratulate you, and I ask that you continue to work hard during your time of study,” Professor O’Connell said.

Accounting Head of Department, Professor Leon Loxton said he is proud of  the departments achievements especially the students who excelled against all odds. Prof Loxton said the department received a 95% pass rate for the SAICA Exam and 18 students were successful with their first attempt. “It is important to note that this is our highest pass ever and we are pleased about this,” he said. He said that with results like this, the department will grow from strength to strength.

The award winners are:

Ms Nabeela G Gaffoor – Best Financial Accounting 1st Year student, presented by KPMG

Ms Aneeqah Anthony -  Best Pastel Accounting student, presented by Sage Pastel Accounting

Ms Awodwa Dabula – Best First year BCom (Accounting) student, presented by LexisNexis

Mr Brandon Smith – Best Financial Accounting 2nd year student, presented by PwC

Mr Brandon Smith – Best Taxation 2nd year student, presented by KPMG

Mr Siphesihle Dlokolo – Best Auditing 2nd Year student, presented by AGSA

Mr Zolani Mzinani –  Best Management Accounting 2nd year student,  presented by Deloitte.

Mr Sufficient Muwandi – Best Business ethics (Accounting) 2nd year student, presented by LexisNexis.

Mr Brandon Smith – Best second year BCom (Accounting) student, presented by Nexia SAB&T.

Mr Aveshin Govender – Best Financial Accounting 3rd year student, presented by Ernst & Young.

Ms Babalwa Melapi – Best Taxation 3rd year student, presented by PwC

Mr Aveshin Govender – Best Auditing 3rd year student, presented by Ernst & Young.

Ms Babalwa Melapi – Best management Accounting 3rd year student, presented by KPMG

Mr Aveshin Govender – Best BCom (Accounting) Graduate, presented by Deloitte

Mr Sibongiseni Mdleleni – Most versatile BCom (Accounting) graduate, presented by PwC.

Mr Aveshin Govender – Best Overall BCom (Accounting) graduate, presented by AGSA

Mr Heath Hellenberg

-     Best Bcom (Honours) (Accounting) Auditing Student, presented by SAICA

-Best BCom (Honours) (Accounting) Financial Accounting student, presented by SAICA

-Best BCom (Honours) (Accounting) Taxation Student, presented by SAICA

-Best BCom (Honours) (Accounting) Management Accounting Student, presented by SAICA

-Best BCom (Honours) (Accounting) Student , presented by Ernst & Young

Mr R Malaka -  ABASA Prize Winner

Ms A Gwele – ABASA Prize Winner, presented by ABASA