Contact Us
18 May 2021
Determined UWC fight UCT to the final whistle in entertaining Chester Williams Memorial Trophy clash
FNB UCT edged FNB UWC, 58-55, in a 14-try thriller to become the first holders of the Chester Williams Memorial Trophy.
This was the first UDubs-Ikeys Cape derby to be played in honour of the former Springbok wing, who coached UWC to their two FNB Varsity Shield titles, the second of which earned them promotion to the FNB Varsity Cup.

It looked like UWC might mark the occasion with an upset win when they led 15-3 after 13 minutes, and then fought back well late in the game to get to within three points of UCT. But the log-leading Ikey Tigers, who outscored their opponents by eight tries to six, were able to hang on for the win.
UWC made a great start to this match, with scrumhalf Branden de Kock slotting two penalties before winger Lundi Msenge (right) scored a point-of-origin try in the left corner after chasing down a kick.
UCT turned to their forward pack to get them into the game, with hooker Devon Arendse and prop Robert Hunt both forcing their way over the whitewash. Hunt’s try came after UWC flank Godfrey Muzanarwo had been sent to the sin bin.
Winger Rethabile Louw and scrumhalf Kyle Bowman then ran in two point-of-origin tries to give the Ikey Tigers a 31-15 lead.
But UCT flyhalf James Tedder was yellow-carded and UWC capitalised immediately through No. 8 Tinotenda Mavesere to make the score 31-22 at half-time.
The tries continued to flow in the second half, with Bowman completing his hat-trick and centres Le Roux Malan and Evardi Boshoff also dotting down.
Msenge atoned for his yellow card early in the second half by scoring another point-of-origin try for UWC, while Mavesere scored a similar long-ranger to complete his own brace of tries.
With a minute remaining, UWC centre André Manuel ran in yet another seven-point try and the conversion made it a three-point game. But UCT were able to wind down the clock and retain their unbeaten record in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup with a 58-55 win.
FNB Player That Rocks: Evardi Boshoff (FNB UCT Ikeys)
FNB UCT Ikey Tigers 58 (31) – Tries: Devon Arendse, Robert Hunt, Rethabile Louw (1x7), Kyle Bowman (1x7, 2x5), Le Roux Malan, Evardi Boshoff. Conversions: James Tedder (5). Penalties: James Tedder (2).

FNB UWC 55 (22) – Tries: Lungi Msenge (2x7), Tinotenda Mavesere (1x5, 1x7), penalty try, André Manuel (1x7). Conversions: Branden de Kock (3). Penalties: Branden de Kock (3).

Report courtesy Photos by Christiaan Kotze/FNB Varsity Cup