Contact Us
30 May 2017
Education Dean’s Merit Awards 2017
The Education Dean’s Merit Awards honoured some of the top future educators produced by UWC’s Faculty of Education.

On Tuesday 30 May 2017 the Faculty of Education at the University of the Western Cape (UWC), under the leadership of new Dean, Professor Vuyokazi Nomlomo, honoured excelling students at their annual Dean's Merit Awards ceremony.

Programme director and Acting Deputy Dean: Teaching and Learning at the Education Faculty, Professor Rajendran Govender said that when the faculty launched the Dean’s Merit Awards they had only 23 students, and today the number has gone up to 161 students.

Attending the awards on behalf of the UWC Executive, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic Professor Vivienne Lawack said Education is one of her favourite faculties, not only because her parents were teachers but because each person has that one teacher that stands out and who has left a lasting, inspiring impression.

“I remember in my day, there was a teacher who brought me all the books and magazines to read. I can say she had a direct influence on the person I have become today. Become an inspiration to the kids that you teach”, she advised awardees in her opening address.

Professor Lawack also encouraged the awardees to work hard, but to never forget to enjoy life and smile.

Students’ certificates were divided into categories including B.Ed (Language and Life Orientation), B.Ed (Language and Social Sciences), B.Ed (Language and Mathematics), B.Ed (Mathematics and Natural Sciences), PGCE, B.Ed (Honours), Postgraduate Diploma in Higher Education: Teaching and Learning, Higher Diploma in Adult Learning (ETD) and Foundation Phase Teaching

A special Marie Grant book award was conferred to former UWC student, Udine Machelm, in recognition of her dedication to and outstanding competency in teaching.

The Marie Grant Award is conferred by the South African Association of Women Graduates, Cape Town Branch, in memory of Marie Grant, a co-founder of the Association (in 1923) and the first Cape Town Branch President.  In her lifetime she was recognised for her commitment to education and the empowerment of young women.