Contact Us
26 October 2018
New UWC 2018/2019 SRC Leadership Inaugurated

(Published - 26 October 2018)

The University of the Western Cape held its annual SRC inauguration which took place on 26 October 2018, when new SRC members were inducted into their positions. The ceremony was attended by the Vice-Chancellor, Prof Pretorius, all the Deputy Vice Chancellors, the Registrar, and a huge crowd of students and UWC staff.

The Programme Director, Mr. Sabelo Sibanda, delivered the welcoming address and noted that all those present were there to give the official mandate to the new and upcoming SRC.

The SRC of 2018/2019 constitutes members from 2 of UWC’s student organisations, namely, PASMA and SASCO. PASMA has 7 seats and SASCO has 5. The last diversely representative SRC served in 2011.

Former SRC President, Lungile Thomas, expressed his gratitude to the entire UWC student body, including its management, saying, “We as the 2017/2018 SRC would like to extend our congratulations to the new SRC, to always remember that it is the students of this university that have put you in this position and it is important to serve their needs. UWC students deliberately voted for this leadership in order to see the maturity of political parties. We have to show them this and prove to them that we are not enemies.”

Vice-Chancellor, Prof Pretorius, read out the oath that the new leadership has to abide by, officiating their positions as the new SRC.

He congratulated the new leaders of the SRC: “I and the other members of my executive leadership look forward to working with you. We are struck by the maturity of the student elections as well as the formation of our SRC.”

Today’s inauguration is the culmination of strong student campaigns.

“Madame President, it is important that you form a team despite the different party alliances. The students at UWC need you and your team to work together and create a space for dialogue and to ensure that the needs of all students are met,” said Prof Pretorius.

The new SRC President, Simthandile Thyali , delivered a heartfelt speech, acknowledging not only the students and the management, but also the UWC staff present.

“I give gratitude to the UWC students for giving me and my team the opportunity to lead them. We will try by all means to ensure that we do our best to help you with your needs and create a safe space for everyone on this campus.”

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Student Development and Support, Professor Pamela Dube also expressed her wishes for the new and upcoming SRC, while acknowledging  the achievements of the exiting SRC of 2017/2018.

“I am confident that you will be able to navigate the difficult reign of leading in a very complex higher education environment. Despite your efforts, there will be times when students will challenge and question you in so many different directions. You will have to get skilled and be ready for it, and we will be there to support you,” said Prof Dube.


President - Simthandile Tyhali
Deputy President - Songezo Booi
Secretary - Bongani Mbelekane
Deputy Secretary - Thandiwe Gaca
Treasurer - Xhanti Gama
Academi Officer - Sihle Joja
Recreation & Cultural Officer - Aphelele Buku
Public Relations Officer - Hartnick Heike
Affiliations Officer - Sive Gxumayo
Policy & Transformation Officer - Khanya Gulwa
Gender & Security Officer - Victor Koswana