Contact Us
21 May 2019
UWC Academics featured finalists at this year’s ‘Science Oscars’

(Published - 21 May 2019)

Five University of the Western Cape (UWC) academics and staff members are in the running for this year’s Science Oscars.

The National Science and Technology Forum NSTF-South32 Awards - dubbed the ‘Science Oscars’ in South Africa - is the most sought-after national awards of its kind in the country. The awards recognise excellence and outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology, and innovation.

The UWC finalists are:

Professor Mervin Meyer from the Biotechnology Department and Director of the DST/Mintek Nanotechnology Innovation Centre. Prof Meyer is a finalist in two categories - the Management Award and the TW Kambule-NSTF Awards.

Professor Marla Trindade is the Director of the Institute for Microbial Biotechnology and Metagenomics. She is also the DST/NRF SARChI Research Chair in Microbial Genomics. Prof Trindade is a finalist for the TW Kambule-NSTF Awards.

Professor Maria Eugenia D’Amato is the team leader of the Forensic DNA Laboratory. Prof D’Amato is a finalist for the Innovation Award.

Ms Mologadi Makwela is the Communications Officer at the Department of Science and Technology/National Research Foundation Centre of Excellence in Food Security. Ms Makwela is a finalist for the Communication Award.

Professor Emmanuel Iwuoha is the Director of the SensorLab. He is the SARChI Chair in Nano-Electrochemistry and Sensor Technology. Prof Iwuoha is a finalist for the Special Annual Theme Award.

Dean of Natural Sciences at UWC, Professor Davies-Coleman said: “The faculty is very proud that four of our top researchers have been nominated as finalists for the prestigious 2019 NSTF-South32 research awards. This is the highest number of researchers we have ever had nominated for NSTF awards in a single year.

“These nominations are a reflection of UWC's investment and commitment to science and the accelerated research trajectory in the Faculty over the past ten years. We wish our researchers every success at the awards evening on 27 June.”

For more information about the awards visit