Contact Us
8 November 2019
UWC Cricket named among exclusive list of 20 'blue flag' clubs
The University of the Western Cape Cricket Club (UWC CC) are among 20 clubs afforded ‘blue flag’ status by Cricket South Africa this week.

UDubs and near neighbours Tygerberg Cricket Club are the only Western Province Cricket Association representatives among the 20. The Western Cape province, however, are further represented by the Boland Cricket Board’s Vredenburg Saldanha Cricket Club and South Western Districts Cricket Board’s Union Stars Cricket Club from Oudtshoorn.

“The aim of the blue-flag programme is to assess how all our clubs are performing in terms of a measurement tool called the clubs quality index,” said CSA acting manager of cricket pathways Edward Khoza.

“It gives recognition to clubs who are achieving CSA’s aims and objectives in terms of the presidential plan.

“The required criteria for this status include administrative capabilities, adequate facilities, a minimum number of teams – and suitably qualified coaches. Clubs are also required to score 90 percent on their CQI evaluation.

“Those clubs that achieve this status will qualify for a doubling of their prize money at both the Multiply T20 Community Cup and the Momentum National Club Championship.”

“The qualifying clubs will be able to wear the prestige CSA blue flag logo on the sleeve of their playing shirts and will be awarded a CSA plaque of recognition. This will happen at international matches during England’s tour to South Africa.”

The quality of tertiary level cricket is highlighted by the fact that four institutions' cricket clubs are on the list. Besides UWC, their regular USSA and Varsity Cricket contemporaries University of Johannesburg and University of Pretoria, as well as University of KwaZulu-Natal feature on the list of clubs issued blue flag status for 2019-20.

Vredenburg Saldanha Cricket Club

Duduza Cricket Club

Eastern Province
United Cricket Club

Delfos Cricket Club
Kagiso Cricket Club
Randburg Cricket Club
Soweto Pioneers Cricket Club
University of Johannesburg Cricket Club
Old Edwardians Cricket Club

University of KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Club
Masibemunye Cricket Club

Mamelodi Cricket Club
Atteridgeville Cricket Club
Soshanguve Cricket Club
University of Pretoria Cricket Club

North West
Impala Cricket Club
Lichtenburg Cricket Club

South Western Districts
Union Stars Cricket Club

Western Province
University of the Western Cape Cricket Club
Tygerberg Cricket Club