Contact Us

Departmental Chairperson

Dr LK Mletshe
Qualifications: BA (Hons) (UWC) MA PhD (SU)
T: 021 959 3570
E: lmletshe@uwc.ac.za

Emeritus Professor

Prof RH Kaschula - NRF B-rated Researcher (2021-2026)
Qualifications: BA LLB, BA (Hons), HDE, PhD (Rhodes)
T: 021 959 4133
E: rrkaschula@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturers

Dr LK Mletshe
Qualifications: BA (Hons) (UWC) MA PhD (SU)
T: 021 959 3570
E: lmletshe@uwc.ac.za

Dr SA Mokapela
Qualifications: BA.Ed (Unitra), BA (Hons), MA, DLitt (SU), PGDip Future Studies (USB)
T: 021 959 3915
E: smokapela@uwc.ac.za

Dr T Ntwana
Qualifications: BA, BA (Hons), HDE, BEd (UWC), MPhil (SU), Acting for Camera (City Varsity), PhD (UWC)
T: 021 959 3405
E: tntwana@uwc.ac.za

Lecturers

Mr Z Jama 
Qualifications: BA (Vista University), BA (Hons) (UPE), MA (UCT)
T: 021 959 2382
E: zjama@uwc.ac.za

Ms SG Mlonyeni 
Qualifications: HDE (UWC), BA Hons (UWC), Public Administration Hons (USB), MA in General Linguistics (UFS)
T: 021 959 2373
E: sgmlonyeni@uwc.ac.za

NGAP lecturer

Ms MS Dhlamini
Qualifications: ND, BTech, MTech (Language Practice) (TUT).
T: 021 959 3983
E: mdhlamini@uwc.ac.za

Extraordinary Professors

Prof E Wolff
Qualifications: Dr. phil./PhD (Afrikanistik): Hamburg

Prof S Makoni
Qualifications: (PhD Edinburgh)   

Administrator

Ms Nokuzola Lusani
Qualification: O.M.T (CPUT), ADM (UWC)
T: 021 959 2979
E: nlusani@uwc.ac.za

Contact us

Department of African Language Studies
New Arts Building
1st Floor
Room D132
University of the Western Cape
Private Bag X17
Bellville 7535

Nokuzola Lusani
Tel: 021 959 2979
Email: nlusani@uwc.ac.za