Contact Us

Welcome to the Faculty of Dentistry

The Faculty of Dentistry is a world-class oral health centre committed to the promotion of oral health through excellence of its teaching and learning, service rendering, community engagement and research.
Prof Yengopal

The Faculty of Dentistry offers high-quality professional education and service based clinical training at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, laying the foundation for life-long professional development.

The Academic Oral Health Centres at Tygerberg and at Mitchells Plain are at the core of our clinical platform, but clinical care and training activities also take place at the Red Cross War Memorial Children's and Groote Schuur hospitals, Gugulethu and Mitchells Plain Dental Clinics, the Phelophepha Health Trains and many other locations served by our mobile dental clinic.

We provide a unique and diverse range of community and hospital settings in which students learn and refine their clinical skills, while delivering much needed oral health care to surrounding communities. 

This clinical platform is jointly managed by the Dental Faculty of the University of the Western Cape (UWC), and the Provincial Government of the Western Cape (PGWC) Department of Health.

Professor Veerasamy 'Jeff' Yengopal
Dean: Faculty of Dentistry


Tygerberg Oral Health Centre

Mitchells Plain Oral Health Centre

The Deaprtment of Community Oral Health provides undergraduate as well as postgraduate programmes which enable students to make a diagnosis of a population’s oral health problems, establish the causes and effects of the problems and plan effective interventions through interdisciplinary co-operation and organised efforts of society.

The discipline is concerned with promoting the health of a population, and, therefore, focuses action at community level as opposed to an individual.
Welcome to Maxillofacial & Oral Pathology

At the Department of Dental Radiology, we provide excellence and care of each patient and student entering our doors.  

We dedicate ourselves to the highest standard of oral health care and commit ourselves to the betterment of the community for the benefit of all society.
The cluster, Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery, and Anaesthesiology and Sedation consists of the two departments namely “Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery” as well as ”Anaesthesiology and Sedation”.

The cluster offers postgraduate programmes that vary from clinical postgraduate diplomas, a clinical specialist master’s programme, research masters and PhD studies.
The Department of Oral Hygiene is primarily responsible for development and delivery of the Degree in Oral Health (BOH).
The scope of expertise of the specialist in Oral Medicine and Periodontics includes the diagnosis and management of diseases, disorders and anomalies that affect the oral and periodontal tissues, as well as the oral and peri-oral manifestations of systemic diseases according to evidence based practices.
The WHO collaborating centres are institutions such as research institutes, parts of universities or academies, which the Director-General designates to carry out activities in support of the Organization’s programmes. Currently, there are over 800 WHO collaborating centres in 90 member states working with WHO on areas such as nursing, occupational health, communicable diseases, nutrition, mental health, chronic diseases and health technologies.