Contact Us

People
View our people

Prof. Andre Travill
Position: Head of Department
Tel: +27 (0)021 959 3934
Fax: +27 (0)021 959 3688
Email: atravill@uwc.ac.za

Prof Travill is a Fulbright scholar who obtained his Masters degree at San Diego State University and his PhD from WITS University. His research focus is in the field of Kinanthropometry, a science which deals on structure- function relationships in humans.  Although he conducts research which involve elite athletes, his specific interest is in the field of child growth and development.  He has a special interest on the physical and functional consequences of growing up in suboptimal socio-economic conditions.

Dr. Barry Andrews
Position: Senior Lecturer / High Performance Project Leader
Tel: +27 (0) 21 959 3137
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: bandrews@uwc.ac.za

Research Interests: Motor Control, Biomechanics, Adapted Physical Activities, Sport Technology

Mrs. Dominique Bowers
Position: PG Administrative Officer
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2409
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: dobowers@uwc.ac.za

Mr. Gareth Smithdorf
Position: Ass. Lecturer / Undergraduate Coordinator (BSc SES)
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2281
Fax: +27 (0) 21 959 3688
Email: gsmithdorf@uwc.ac.za

Mr. Ghaleelullah Achmat
Position: Associate Lecturer / Biokinetics Manager
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2502
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: gachmat@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Lloyd Leach
Position: Ass. Professor / Deputy HoD / Biokinetics Coordinator
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2653
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: lleach@uwc.ac.za

Research Interest: HIV/AIDS and Exercise

Dr. Marié Young
Position: Senior Lecturer
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2377
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email :myoung@uwc.ac.za

Marié Young, PhD, are qualified in the field of Sport and Recreation Management She is working as Head of Department and lecturer at the Department of Sport, Recreation and Exercise Science at the University of the Western Cape. She is involved in various community based research interventions with inter-professional partners from national and international tertiary institutions. These projects are related to health and wellness promotion in work and community settings as well as training of recreational workers to develop community based recreational programs. She is further exploring therapeutic recreation as a developing profession in South Africa. She deems capacity building among youth as important. She has written articles in the fields of sport and recreation.

Mrs. Nomnthu Tsoli
Position: UG Administrative Officer
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2350
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: ntsoli@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Susan Bassett
Position: Ass. Professor / Postgraduate Coordinator
Tel: +27 (0)21 959 2273
Fax: +27 (0)21 959 3688
Email: sbassett@uwc.ac.za

Area of Specialisation:  Exercise Physiology and Chronic Diseases
Research Interests:  Chronic Diseases, specifically obesity and metabolic syndrome; sport enhancement